KC Chamber Announces 2023 Top 10 Small Businesses

The Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce is excited to announce the 2023 Top 10 Small Businesses in the Small Business Celebration. These businesses are competing to be named Small Business of the Year and take home the prestigious Mr. K Award.

They are, in alphabetical order:

  • BASYS – A personal payment processing firm that makes accepting credit and debit cards convenient and safe.
  • CremaA digital product agency that designs and builds custom software.
  • Crux A marketing agency which combines executive-level marketing and business strategy.
  • DMC – DMC provides commercial HVAC and plumbing services to midsize businesses across the KC metro area.
  • J. Rieger – A Kansas City distillery founded in 1887 by Jacob Rieger, shut down by Prohibition, revived in 2014.
  • Parrish & Sons – A 100% woman-owned construction company specializing in excavation, grading, and demolition.
  • Quantum Resource Professionals – Established in 2002, this small business offers specialist staffing solutions for school districts and healthcare organizations.
  • Resolve – A counseling and therapy practice specializing in individual therapy services for adults, couples, teens, and children.
  • The Running Well Store – A running store designed to help runners of all levels, including novice runners, competitive athletes, or someone who simply needs a good pair of shoes.
  • Walz Tetrick – A full-service advertising agency that’s been creating insights-drive campaigns since 1967.

“Small businesses drive KC’s economy, and we couldn’t be more excited for this year’s Top 10, and the opportunity to continue supporting our small business community,” said Joe Reardon, President & CEO of the KC Chamber. “80 candidates applied for the Small Business Celebration this year, and we were wowed by all of them. KC’s small businesses are going strong.”

The Small Business of the Year will be announced at the Small Business Awards Luncheon, Wednesday, June 14, 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. at the Marriott Muehlebach Tower Imperial Colonial Ballroom, 1213 Wyandotte in Downtown Kansas City. Seats are still available.

In addition to Small Business of the Year, the following specialty awards will also be presented:

  • The KC Chamber Emerging Business Award
  • The KC Chamber Small Business Equity Award
  • The KC Chamber Weida Award for International Small Business of the Year
  • The KC Chamber Legacy of Kansas City Award

The KC Chamber Small Business Celebration is recognized as one of the largest small business celebrations in the country. The Small Business of the Year receives the coveted Mr. K Award, named for Ewing Kauffman, entrepreneur and philanthropist. To be named Small Business of the Year signifies that a company that has shown growth or sustainability of their business with strong employee relations, a commitment to DEI initiatives, and a record of giving back to the community.

The Awards Luncheon Presenting Sponsor is Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation. The Small Business Presenting Sponsor is Evergy. Our Small Business CEO Sponsor is Kansas City National Security Campus, managed by Honeywell FM&T. Our Small Business Superstars Presenting Sponsor is EAG Advertising and Marketing. Our Media Sponsor is Startland News.