Join the KC ChamberLogin

News Room

Karen Daniel Elected Chair of the KC Chamber

Karen Daniel, Chief Financial Officer of Black & Veatch, was unanimously elected the new Chair of the Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce by the Chamber’s Board of Directors Monday night at the Board’s October meeting. Her term begins November 1, 2016 and extends through October 31, 2017.

Daniel says her priorities for the next year include continuation of the Chamber’s Big 5 goals for Kansas City, development of a new strategic plan for the organization, and implementation of the region’s first metropolitan export plan, developed through the Chamber’s World Trade Center and the Global Cities Initiative.

Other FY2017 Chamber officers elected for a one-year term include:
  • Chair Elect – Matt Condon, CEO, ARC Physical Therapy+ and Bardavon
  • Vice Chair – Michael Hagedorn, President & CEO, UMB Bank
  • Treasurer – Gordon Lansford, President & CEO, JE Dunn Construction Company
  • Immediate Past Chair – Terry Bassham, Chairman, President & CEO, KCP&L
New 2017 Board members (serving a three-year term) include:
  • Whitney Bartelli, Bank Midwest
  • Kevin Barth, Commerce Bank
  • Tony Berg, The Kansas City Star
  • Jean Paul Bradshaw II, Lathrop & Gage
  • Ramin Cherafat – McCownGordon
  • Dave Harrison, VanTrust Real Estate
  • Bridget McCandless, Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas City
  • Madeleine McDonough, Shook Hardy & Bacon
  • Roshann Parris, Parris Communications
  • Tim Petty, U.S. Bank
  • Jeff Simon, Husch Blackwell
  • Mike Talboy, Burns & McDonnell
Current Board members approved for a second three-year term are:
  • Steve Doyal, Hallmark
  • Linda Hanson, Enterprise Bank & Trust
  • Kara Hendon, FleishmanHillard
  • Jon Jackson, The University of Kansas Hospital
  • Jason Klumb, U.S. General Services Administration
  • Greg Macfarlane, H&R Block, Inc.
  • Chris Migneron, HNTB
  • Brad Smith, BMO Harris Bank
  • Brad Sprong, KPMG LLP
Educational and nonprofit institution board members include:
  • Jean Paul Chaurand, Guadalupe Centers
  • Fr. Tom Curran, Rockhurst University
  • Bernadette Gray-Little, University of Kansas
  • Marc Hahn, Kansas City University
  • Bridget McCandless, Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas City
  • Leo Morton, University of Missouri – Kansas City
2017 Chamber Board members serving as a representative of another organization:
  • Scott Smith, Civic Council of Greater Kansas City
  • Cathy Beaham Smith, Downtown Council
  • Rosana Privitera Biondo, Kansas City Area Development Council
Public officials serving as 2017 Board members include:
  • Kirby Brown, U.S. Army Combined Arms Center
  • Mayor Peggy Dunn, City of Leawood, KS
  • Chair Ed Eilert, Johnson County Commission
  • Mayor Mark Holland, Unified Government of Wyandotte County
  • Mayor Sly James, City of Kansas City, MO
  • City Manager Troy Schulte, City of Kansas City, MO
  • County Executive Frank White, Jackson County, MO
Special one-year term Board member appointments:
  • Brad Sandt, k12itc, 2016 Mr. K Award winner and Small Business of the Year
  • Denise Kruse, AdamsGabbert & Associates – Chair’s appointment
  • Clyde McQueen, Full Employment Council – Chair’s appointment
  • Gretchen FitzGerald, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas City, Centurions Chair
  • Drew Elliott, KCPT, genKC Chair

The KC Chamber will honor new Chair Karen Daniel and outgoing Chair Terry Bassham at the organization’s 129th Annual Dinner meeting on Tuesday, November 22 at the Kansas City Convention Center Ballroom. The finale of the evening is the announcement of the Kansas Citian of the Year, one of the KC region’s most prestigious awards.

Pam Whiting
(816) 374-5481